Dr. John Conly – Governor General’s Order of Canada Appointment

Dr. John Conly Created in 1967, the Order of Canada, one of our country’s highest civilian honours, recognizes outstanding achievement, dedication to the community and service to the nation. The motto of the Order: DESIDERANTES MELIOREM PATRIAM (“They desire a better country”).
Congratulations to Dr. John Conly for being awarded the Governor General’s Order of Canada Appointment for his ongoing dedication to antimicrobial resistance and infection control in Canada, notably by creating national guidelines on the standard of care for infectious diseases.

Dr. Mark Gillrie – CIHR Fellowship Success

Dr. Mark Gillrie has been awarded a CIHR Fellowship (Health Professional category), ranking in the top 5 amongst his peers. Mark is currently finishing up advanced training in the area of 3D tissue culture at the Massachusetts Institute for Technology (supported by a Department of Medicine Fellowship Award). Congratulations Mark!

Drs. Karen Rimmer and Rhea Varughese – 2017 PLC Physician Merit Awards

Please join us in congratulating Dr. Karen Rimmer and Dr. Rhea Varughese on their recognition as Physicians of Merit at the PLC Medical Staff Celebration of Excellence on April 19th. Photos of the event can be found here.

Fracture Liaison Service – President’s Excellence Award

The members of the U of C Section of Geriatric Medicine have partnered with the Bone and Joint Health SCN and others to provide the Fracture Liaison Service within Calgary area hospitals. This program has just been announced as a winner of an AHS President’s Excellence Award for Innovation and Research.

Drs. Anshula Ambasta & Sachin Pendharkar – 2018 DOM Analytics Grant

Dr. Richard Leigh, Dr. Ward Flemons, Dr. Anshula Ambasta, Dr. Sachin Pendharkar, and Ed Enns The Department of Medicine, through the Health Analytics Working Group (HAWG), awarded two grants of $30,000 each to Dr. Sachin Pendharkar and Dr. Anshula Ambasta. These grants will assist in the development of measures related to patient experience at the FMC Sleep Centre and complex General Internal Medicine inpatients.