Casara Ogilvie, Administrative Assistant to:
Dr. Deb Isaac, Zone Clinical Section Chief

Phone: 403-944-1169


Dr. Deb IsaacThe Department of Medicine is pleased to announce the formation of a new Section/Division of Medical Transplant. This new Section/Division currently consists of 28 members (including primary and secondary members). These 28 members will also maintain their membership within their solid organ specialty Section/Division (i.e. Respirology; Nephrology; GI & Hepatology; Cardiology). Membership within the new Section/Division of Medical Transplant will be expanded over the coming weeks to months to include department members from the Sections/Divisions of ID, Endocrinology and Dermatology who work in the area of transplant medicine.

Dr. Deb Isaac has been selected as the inaugural Section/Division Head of Medical Transplant, and she will also continue in her role as Medical Director of the AHS Southern Alberta Transplant program. This new Section/Division will work closely with the other Sections/Divisions within the department and with the Division of Cardiology (Department of Cardiac Sciences), as well as with the AHS Southern Alberta Transplant program.

Dr. Isaac is Clinical Professor of Medicine (University of Calgary), cardiologist with specialization in Advanced Heart Failure / Cardiac Transplantation and Echocardiography. She has been Medical Director of the Southern Alberta Transplant Program since 2018. In addition she is a clinical Heart Failure research program collaborator, and is active in medical education. As a founding member and past-president of the Canadian Cardiac Transplant Network, she remains active in transplantation / organ donation at a national level.